The Singly Landlocked States Of The United States

The United States is made up of 16 landlocked states, plus the District of Columbia. To access the nearest gulf, sea, ocean, or bay, a landlocked state must cross the boundary of another state.There are sixteen single-landlocked states, ten double-landlocked states, and ten triple-landlocked states, and Nebraska is the sole triply landlocked state. Hawaii is the only island state in the United States. With the exception of Hawaii and Alaska, 48 of the 50 states are connected. Hawaii is the only US state that is located in Oceania rather than North America. The District of Columbia is likewise landlocked on one side. The only landlocked states in the United States

Landlocked States Of The United States
Landlocked States Of The United States ( Image Credit: Flickr )

The Singly Landlocked States of the United States

Arizona and Arkansas

The Pacific Coast may be reached from Arizona via the California states, while the Gulf of California can be reached via the Mexican state of Sonora. Due to a sliver of land on the Mexican side of the border, Arizona is unable to access the Gulf without crossing the international boundary. Arkansas might have access to the Gulf of Mexico via Texas, Louisiana, or Mississippi. When compared to the other two states, however, Louisiana provides the quickest path to the Gulf.

District of Columbia and Idaho

The District of Columbia is the United States’ capital; it was established on July 16, 1790, after the states of Maryland and Virginia both provided territory for the Union’s headquarters. By crossing either state, the capital enjoys access to the Atlantic. Idaho, on the other side, may have access to the Pacific coast via Canada via Oregon, Washington, or British Columbia. When compared to the British Columbia coast, which is longer and requires crossing an international border, Washington and Oregon provide the shortest distance with the fewest restrictions.

Kentucky and Michigan

Kentucky may reach the Atlantic Ocean via Virginia. The state may, however, pass via Illinois or Indiana to reach Lake Mississippi, and Ohio to reach Lake Erie. Through the Province of Ontario, Michigan has access to Canada’s James Bay. With the exception of Lake Ontario, Michigan borders four of the five Great Lakes. The Saint Lawrence Seaway connects the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Ocean.

Minnesota and Montana

Minnesota residents must travel through Manitoba or Ontario to reach Hudson Bay. Minnesota, on the other hand, has direct access to Lake Superior, from which the Saint Lawrence Seaway connects to the Atlantic Ocean. Montana inhabitants, on the other hand, must go to the Pacific Coast via British Columbia. The shortest path to the Pacific, however, takes Montanans through Idaho and Washington.

Nevada and New Mexico

Nevada inhabitants must travel through California or Oregon to reach the Pacific coast. New Mexicans, on the other hand, must go via Texas to reach the Gulf of Mexico. New Mexicans can have access to the Pacific by crossing the international border into Sonora and the Gulf of California.

North Dakota and Ohio

On the Canadian side of the border, Ohio has access to James Bay via the Province of Ontario. However, Lake Erie borders the state and connects it to the Atlantic Ocean via the Saint Lawrence Seaway. The province of Manitoba provides North Dakota with access to Hudson Bay. Because of international boundaries and the distance to Hudson Bay, the shortest route to the Atlantic is via Lake Superior in Minnesota.

READ MORE: The 10 Most Dangerous Countries For Women

Oklahoma and Pennsylvania

To reach the Gulf of Mexico, Oklahoma citizens must go via Texas. Although the Pacific coast is much further distant, it may be reached via New Mexico, Arizona, and California. In comparison, Delaware, New York, Maryland, and New Jersey all have access to the Atlantic Ocean. The state may also get access to James Bay via Ontario. Despite convenient access to Lake Erie, the Saint Lawrence Seaway is a significantly longer approach to the Atlantic.

Tennessee, Vermont and West Virginia

Residents of Tennessee may reach the Atlantic Ocean by going through North Carolina, Georgia, or Virginia. They can also migrate to the Gulf of Mexico via Alabama and Mississippi. Traveling via Kentucky, Indiana, or Illinois will also take you to Lake Michigan. Vermont residents can reach the Atlantic via Massachusetts, New York, or New Hampshire. They may even cross the international border into Quebec and travel to the Hudson and James Bays. West Virginia could be able to reach the Atlantic via Virginia or Maryland.

Which States are Singly Landlocked?

The only landlocked states in the United States are Arizona, Arkansas, the District of Columbia, Idaho, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Vermont, and West Virginia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *