How Many States Are There in the United States?

There are now 50 states in the United States. The United States of America is located in North America and is almost the same size as Europe. The country is made up of states, territories, and small islands. The US Constitution bestows many powers and obligations on states, which are the country’s primary subdivisions.

Number of States In The US

There are now 50 states, a federal district, tiny islands, and five large territories in the United States. 48 of these 50 states are contiguous, which means they are directly connected. These 48 states are located in the center of North America, between Mexico and Canada.These states include Oklahoma,  Arkansas, Colorado, North Dakota, Wyoming, Oregon, New Jersey, and New Hampshire. The other two states are Alaska and Hawaii. Alaska is located in the northwest region of North America, whereas Hawaii is a Pacific Ocean archipelago.

how many states are there in the united states
how many states are there in the united states ( Image Credit: Flickr )

Delaware is the nation’s first state. It was established on December 7, 1787. Hawaii is the state with the shortest history, having been formed on August 21, 1959. With 665,384 square miles, Alaska has the largest total area, while Rhode Island has the smallest total area with only 1,545 square miles. California is the most populous state in terms of population, with around 39,536,653 residents, whereas Wyoming has just 579,315 residents.

Territories Of The US

The United States has 14 territories in addition to its 50 states. Only five of these places are permanently populated by civilians. The five territories are American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, and Guam. All of the territories, with the exception of the US Virgin Islands, Navassa Island, and Puerto Rico, are in the Pacific Ocean. Only Palmyra Atoll is integrated, meaning that the US constitution is strictly followed. Ten of the fourteen territories are unorganized (without an Organic Act), whereas the remaining four are.

READ MORE: Top 10 Most Dangerous Cities in the World

Washington, D.C.

As previously established, there is one federal district in the United States that is neither a state nor a territory. The District of Columbia has no senators, although it does have representatives in the House of Representatives and the Electoral College. The district is exclusively within the authority of the United States Congress, according to the constitution. It does, however, have a mayor and council who, under the 1973 District of Columbia Home Rule Act, make some decisions, although Congress can intervene and overturn them.

How Many States Are There in the USA?

The United States currently has 50 states.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *