Top New 7 Wonders of the World

The Taj Mahal, Machu Picchu, and the Great Wall of China are among the world’s seven marvels.

Human civilizations all over the world have built and created cities, buildings, monuments, tombs, temples, cathedrals, mosques, and other structures that continue to amaze millions of people. It’s difficult to narrow down the world’s wonders to just seven. The New 7 marvels Foundation, fortunately, took the initiative to develop a list of the world’s “new” seven marvels by narrowing down a list of 200 monuments from across the world, including some of the world’s most recognized structures like the Sydney Opera House and the Statue of Liberty. The top seven candidates were picked by public vote from this list of 21 contenders.

This is a list of the New 7 Wonders of the World.

7 wonders of the World
7 wonders of the World ( Image Credit: Flickr )

8. Taj Mahal – India

The Taj Mahal is well renowned around the world for its historical significance, love story, and spectacular beauty. The Taj Mahal is located in Agra, a famous Indian city. It holds Mumtaz Mahal’s mausoleum, the wife of Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. According to legend, the emperor adored his wife and was inspired to create the Taj Mahal after her death as a memorial to her. The Taj Mahal’s construction was finished in 1632. The temple’s construction cost the equivalent of $827 million USD today. The Taj Mahal was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983. It now gets 7 to 8 million tourists every year.

7. Colosseum – Italy

The Colosseum, one of the world’s seven wonders, is located in Rome, Italy. The Colosseum, also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, is an oval-shaped amphitheater in the city center. It is the world’s biggest amphitheater, made of concrete and sand. Emperor Vespasian began building on the Colosseum in AD 72, and his successor, Titus, completed it by AD 80. Domitian, another emperor of the Flavian dynasty, subsequently modified the amphitheater. The Colosseum could hold around 80,000 spectators. Mock sea battles, animal hunts, re-enactments of great wars, executions, and legendary dramas were among the public spectacles conducted in the Colosseum. This global marvel is now a major tourist destination and serves as the iconic symbol of Imperial Rome.

6. Chichen Itza – Mexico

Chichen Itza is an archeological site in the Mexican state of Yucatán. It is a pre-Columbian city created by the Maya people during the Terminal Classic era. The historical significance of the site adds to its classification as a global wonder. Chichen Itza is said to have been one of the great Mayan towns, and the city’s structures display a diversity of architectural styles.

5. Machu Picchu – Peru

Machu Picchu is one of the world’s seven wonders and a dream destination for millions of tourists worldwide. It is located in Peru’s Machupicchu District in the Cusco Region. According to the majority of archaeologists, Machu Picchu was established as an estate by Inca monarch Pachacuti in 1450. The place grew into a metropolis before being abandoned after the Spanish Conquest a century later. The place was mostly unknown to the rest of the world until it was discovered by Hiram Bingham, an American explorer. Machu Picchu is an excellent example of the Incan way of life.

4. Christ the Redeemer – Brazil

The Art Deco-styled monument of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro is one of the world’s seven wonders and one of Brazil’s most distinctive icons. Paul Landowski, a French sculptor, is credited with creating the monument. Gheorghe Leonida, a Romanian sculptor, was in charge of creating the face. Christ the Redeemer stands 98 feet tall on a pedestal that stands 26 feet tall. It has 92-foot-wide arms. The 635-tonne monument is built of soapstone and concrete and stands atop the 2,300-foot-tall Corcovado Mountain. The statue’s construction began in 1922 and was finished in 1931.

3. Petra – Jordan

Petra, a Jordanian marvel, is also one of the world’s seven wonders. It has enormous archeological, historical, and architectural importance, making it a breathtaking tourist destination. The water conduit system and rock-cut architecture are two of this ancient city’s most remarkable characteristics. Petra is also known as the “Rose City” because to the hue of the stone from which it is sculpted. Petra is not just one of the world’s seven wonders, but it is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Smithsonian magazine has also named it one among the “28 Places to See Before You Die.”

READ MORE: Christmas Decoration Ideas – Top 10 Trends

2. Great Wall of China – China

The Great Wall of China is a global tourist attraction noted for its uniqueness, length, and historical significance. It is also regarded as one of the world’s seven wonders. The Great Wall of China has been intertwined with Chinese history for thousands of years. Beginning in the 7th century BCE, Chinese emperors and kingdoms constructed a succession of walls over a long period of time. These walls were eventually connected to form the Great Wall of China. In 1987, UNESCO designated the property as a UNESCO World Heritage site.

1. Great Pyramid of Giza (Honorary Candidate) – Completed c. 2560 BC

Although the Great Pyramid of Giza was not formally designated as one of the world’s seven wonders, it was given an honorary title due to its unquestionable significance. The Great Pyramid of Giza is the largest and oldest of the three pyramids that comprise the Giza Pyramid Complex. Egyptologists estimate that this pyramid was constructed during a 10- to 20-year period and was finished about 2560 BC. For nearly 3,800 years, the Great Pyramid of Giza was the world’s highest building, until it was surpassed by modern-day skyscrapers. Engineers and architects all around the globe have been perplexed by how the Pyramid was built during a time when modern infrastructure was unavailable. The tomb of Khufu, the Fourth Dynasty Egyptian king, is housed within the pyramid.

What Are the Seven Wonders of the World?

The Taj Mahal, the Colosseum, Chichen Itza, Machu Picchu, Christ the Redeemer, Petra, and the Great Wall of China are the Seven Wonders of the World. Although it is not strictly a global wonder, the Great Pyramid of Giza is considered an honorable contender.

The 7 Wonders Of The World

RankWonderDate of constructionLocation
1Great Wall of ChinaSince 7th century BCChina
2Petrac. 100 BCJordan
3Christ the RedeemerOpened October 12, 1931.Brazil
4Machu Picchuc. AD 1450Peru
5Chichen Itzac. AD 600Mexico
6ColosseumCompleted AD 80Italy
7Taj MahalCompleted c. AD 1648India
8Great Pyramid of Giza (Honorary Candidate)Completed c. 2560 BCEgypt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *