Top 10 Smallest Countries in Europe

Vatican City, Monaco, San Marino, and Liechtenstein top the list of smallest cities of different countries in Europe by land area.

Europe is made up of 50 nations, some of which have land in both Europe and Asia, while others have yet to be formally acknowledged. The continent is frequently referred to as Eurasia since the border between Europe and Asia is not well defined and some states lie between the two continents. Europe covers around 3,930,000 square miles. The continent’s population was estimated to reach 738 million people in 2016. Some of the continent’s smallest countries are only partially recognized as independent states.

cyprus in Europe
Smallest Countries in Europe ( Image Credit: Flickr )

10. Cyprus – 9,251

Cyprus is a Mediterranean island in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Turkey. Humans have inhabited Cyprus, all 9,251 square kilometers of island, since the 10th millennium BCE. Cyprus is a member of the Commonwealth.

9. Azerbaijan – 6,960

Azerbaijan is in the South Caucasus region. It is situated halfway between Southwest Asia and Southeastern Europe. The European side is 2,687.27 square miles in size, but the overall country is approximately 33,400 square miles. Azerbaijan won independence in 1918. The country joined the Soviet Union in 1920 and left on August 30, 1991. The country is one of six independent Turkic-speaking nations. The country’s population was predicted to reach 9.762 million people in 2016.

We are just counting Azerbaijan’s territory on the European side for its inclusion on this list.

8. Luxembourg – 2,586 sq km

Luxembourg is a Western European landlocked nation bordered by Belgium, Germany, and France. It is one of Europe’s smallest countries, with a land area of 2,586 km2. Luxembourg City is the country’s capital as well as one of the three European Union capitals (the other two being Brussels, Belgium and Strasbourg, France).

7. Georgia – 2,428 sq km

Georgia is located in the Caucasus area of Europe and Asia. It is located between Eastern Europe and Western Asia, with Asia constituting the bulk of the country. Tbilisi, Georgia’s capital and largest city, is also the country’s largest. In Europe, Georgia has a land area of 937.46 square miles. Georgia’s overall land area, including the Asian side, is 26,911.32 square miles. The population was estimated to be 3.718 million people in 2017. In April 1991, Georgia proclaimed independence from the Soviet Union. Georgian is the official language of the nation.

Although Georgia has a bigger overall geographical area than some of the other entries on this list, we are just including the section of Georgia on the European side, which is 2,428 km squared.

6. Andorra – 468 sq km

Andorra is a landlocked country in southwestern Europe in the Eastern Pyrenees Mountains. The president of France and the bishop of Urgell, Spain lead the principality, which was formed in 1278. Andorra is 181 square miles in size. In 2016, the population was predicted to be 77,281. Andorra la Vella, the capital city, is Europe’s highest capital city, towering at 3,356 feet. The official language is Catalan.

5. Malta – 316 sq km

The Republic of Malta is a group of islands in Southern Europe’s Mediterranean Sea. Among the major islands are Malta, Gozo, and Comino. The island covers an area of 122 square miles. The population was estimated to be 436,947 people in 2016. Maltese is the country’s official language, whereas English is the national language. Valletta is the capital city and the smallest capital city in the European Union. Malta gained independence in 1964 and became a republic in 1974.

4. Liechtenstein – 160 sq k

Liechtenstein is a monarchy controlled by a prince. The principality is situated in Central Europe and is bordered on both sides by land. The country is located in the Rhine valley, which is part of the Alps mountain ranges. Liechtenstein has an area of around 62 square miles. The population of the principality was estimated to reach 37,666 persons in 2016. German is the official language of communication. Because Liechtenstein is an Alpine country, it is ideal for winter sports. The capital is Vaduz.

READ MORE: Top 10 Vodka Countries In The World

3. San Marino – 61 sq km

The Republic of San Marino is a microstate and enclave in Italy. The country has a geographical area of around 24 square miles and is mostly hilly. San Marino held the record for the world’s smallest republic until 1968, when it was overtaken by Nauru. The population was predicted to reach 33,285 in 2016. Serravalle is the country’s largest city, while San Marino is its capital. The country is one of the most prosperous in the world. San Marino is the only country in the world where the quantity of vehicles outnumbers the population. In 2014, there were 1,263 vehicles per 1,000 people. The official language of the country is Italian, although Romagnol is widely spoken as well.

2. Monaco – 1.95 sq km

Monaco, properly known as the Principality of Monaco, is a self-governing city-state on the French Riviera. The nation is the world’s second smallest, with an area of 0.78 square miles. According to the 2016 census, the population was 38,499 people. The Franco-Monegasque Treaty of 1861 granted Monaco independence. The official language of the Principality of Monaco is French, however Monegasque, Italian, and Occitan are all widely spoken. The government of the nation is a constitutional monarchy, with Prince Albert II as the current king. Since 1911, Monaco has been ruled by a constitutional monarchy, with the sovereign prince as the head of state. Monaco has no income tax and has very low company taxes, making it a country with some of the richest individuals. Monaco is famous for the Monaco Grand Prix.

1. Vatican City – 0.44 sq km

The state of Vatican City is the smallest country in Europe and the world in terms of both size and population, with an area of only 0.17 square miles. The Holy See rules over the country, which is not formally self-governing. The population was predicted to be 1,000 persons in 2015. The city was established by the Lateran Treaty, signed on February 11, 1929, between the Holy See and Italy. The official language of the Vatican is Italian. The name was inspired by the fact that Vatican City is located atop the Vatican Mount. The Vatican City administration is an absolute elective monarchy, with the Pope as the head of the Roman Catholic Church.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *