Geographical Zones of The World

The North Frigid Zone, the North Temperate Zone, the South Temperate Zone, the Torrid Zone, and the South Frigid Zone are the five major latitude zones on Earth.

The world is split into five main geographical zones depending on its climatic conditions. The zones are the North Frigid Zone, North Temperate Zone, Tropics, South Frigid Zone, and South Temperate Zone. The climatic aspects of the two temperate zones (North and South Temperate Zones) are identical, with the only difference being their closeness to the tropics. The North and South Frigid Zones are the same. Latitudes act as the boundaries between geographical zones. Here are some Geographical Zones of The World.

Geographical Zones of The World
Geographical Zones of The World ( Image Credit: Flickr )

The North Frigid Zone

The North Frigid Zone is found in the planet’s far north and is marked by low temperatures and long winters. The zone encompasses all areas north of 66.5 degrees north latitude. The geographical zone encompasses Alaska, Greenland, Northern Russia, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, and the Arctic Ocean. Due to the extreme conditions prevalent in the Arctic, the zone is often desolate. Some of the indigenous peoples of the Arctic include the Inuit, Yupik, Evenks, Chukchi, Nenets, and Yukaghir.

The North Frigid Zone biosphere is well adapted to the extreme weather conditions that prevail in this geographical zone. The Arctic’s harsh temperatures and lack of sunshine restrict tree development, and plants seldom grow taller than six feet. Mosses, herbs, lichens, and dwarf shrubs make up the Arctic vegetation. Muskox, caribou, and Arctic hare are examples of species indigenous to this geographical zone. Predators include polar bears, killer whales, and Arctic foxes. The North Frigid Zone’s principal problem is ice melting caused by global warming, which is expected to have severe consequences for the zone’s environment.

The North And South Temperate Zones

The temperate geographical zone lies south of the Arctic and north of the Antarctic geographical zones. The tropics split the temperate zone into two halves: the northern temperate zone and the southern temperate zone. The two zones are named from their geographical location in regard to the tropics. The northern temperate zone spans latitudes 66.50 North and 23.50 North, whereas the southern temperate zone spans latitudes 66.50 South and 23.50 South. The zone is defined by severe seasonal variations, with four distinct seasons throughout the year and vast temperature disparities. The North and South temperate zones cover more than half of the planet’s surface, encompassing most of Europe, North America, and Asia, as well as sections of South America, Africa, and Oceania. Oceanic, subtropical, continental, Boreal, and Mediterranean subzones comprise the temperate geographical zone. The Himalayas are independent geological features of the temperate zone, like the Alps and Rockies.

The temperate zone encompasses all of the world’s temperate forests, which are among the best ecological settings on the planet. The forests are home to several animal species, including hundreds of bird species, cougars, wolves, deer, and foxes. Because of its variety, the geographical zone is home to the majority of the world’s human population. Many of the world’s most important cities are also located in the zone, reflecting the tremendous pace of urbanisation witnessed in the temperate geographical zone. Because it contains some of the world’s most agriculturally productive regions, the temperate zone has a high human population density. Temperate zones are where the majority of the world’s grains are farmed on a huge scale.

The Torrid Zone

The tropics, also known as the Torrid Zone, are the geographical zone located between the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, closest to the equator. In many aspects, the tropics are a tremendously diverse region, including demography, biology, and ecology. However, one distinguishing aspect of these locations is that the Sun crosses above the zenith at least once a year. According to some experts, the dry zone is divided into two zones based on its geographic location: neotropics (Latin America and the Caribbean) and paleotropics (Australia, Africa, and Asia). The majority of tropical areas experience two seasons each year: rainy and dry.

READ MORE: Top 10 the Most Beautiful Countries in the World

The Torrid Zone is the world’s largest geographical zone, encompassing over 40% of the planet’s surface. The tropics are home to around 40% of the world’s population, with that figure anticipated to rise to 50% by 2040. The tropics are frequently portrayed as lush woods with towering trees. While such a botanic composition may be found in the Torrid Zone’s tropical rainforests, the geographic zone also encompasses other contrasting ecosystems such as high mountains such as the Andes and Mount Kilimanjaro, as well as large deserts such as the Sahara and Atacama Deserts. The Torrid Zone is perhaps the wealthiest of the five geographical zones, with more animal and plant species found there than in any other zone.

The South Frigid Zone

The most southern geographical zone is the South Frigid Zone. This geographical zone, like the North Frigid Zone, is distinguished by freezing temperatures and the midnight sun; a 24-hour period when the sun is visible. The South Frigid Zone includes all places between 66.50 degrees South latitude and the South Pole. This geographical zone, combined with the North Frigid Zone, occupies 4.12% of the planet’s surface, making it the smallest of the world’s five geographical zones. Antarctica occupies the vast part of the South Frigid Zone.

The South Frigid Zone has some of the coldest temperatures on the globe. Extreme temperatures and inclement weather in the South Frigid Zone, which is sparsely occupied by humans. However, Antarctica has a human population, the majority of whom are researchers who visit the continent for a brief period of time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *